top of page
No hay etiquetas aún.

BÚSQUEDA POR TAGS: 

POSTS RECIENTES: 

SÍGUEME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

HOW TO DO NEW YORK IN 48 HOURS OR LESS.

Hello my solecitos! I have decided to start blogging constantly or at least on a weekly basis and today I chose one of the best cities on earth, New York City.

My experiences in New York had been really really reaaally short but effective, so I decided to give you a few tips on how to make the best out of NY in less than 48 hours or less; so let the hours, minutes, seconds count.

First of all, don’t be lazy and do your homework, research ahead and narrow down the list of what you want to be doing; it is New York after all and its options are endless to say the least. I, myself start by choosing places to eat (yes, honestly food can completely change my logistics #gorditaforever), and aside from my food obsession (oops), I emphasize on this because New York is known for its many great restaurants, some of which are rated as the best in the world and since you are on the clock here, I would make sure to spot your place of choice so you can plan where to head off next in case you are in the party scene in NYC, and like why wouldn’t you?#imjustsaying.

Then pick a museum or attraction you want to see, if you want to check out an art museum or any museum for that matter, please take in account that even if you feel like going in there just to say you’ve been there, update your Facebook status or even if you don’t know the language and wander around nonsense, you will inevitably spend at least three hours of your time from wing to wing.  #culturetakestime

And last but not least, go to Broadway!!! Please do so!!! I am a fan of theater specially musical theater and I had the chance to catch a few shows here and there and none of them compares to the ones in Broadway (yes, London included); there a plenty of options to choose from and the theaters are usually small, so regardless of where you can purchase your ticket, I can assure you the experience will be worth every penny. #happinesslooksthisway

Now I will let you into my little experience so you can read and take my do’s and please DO NOTs!!

First Day   

Arriving to NYC at 6m from Mexico City, I flew during the night and literally slept the whole trip so…yeah… I am that person! Arriving to NY, a car picked me up and took me to the hotel where I straight went to EAT #fattystrikesagain, and we went to this cozy little American place called Penelope right on Lexington Ave and it was good though portions are huge so keep that mind and try to get there not too late, otherwise you are most likely to wait a while for a table, the only downside is that they try to fit soooo many people in that little place that you are practically talking to all tables and hearing everyone’s conversations.

That weekend was St. Patricks weekend, so the streets were packed with drinking teens which aren’t that bad when they think you are nineteen but other than, this is only enjoyable for like a couple of hours but since I was already there, I embraced it and headed down to an Irish pub, which I do not remember the name by now #sorry, but I had a good time drinking beer, hanging out with NY firemen that apparently were late to be in the parade #finepeople, but after a couple of beers and what felt like the longest line to the bathroom in my whole life (and I’ve been to crazy places), we finally left and headed for pizza to an Italian Restaurant but there was no pizza just pasta, so you can imagine my disappointment.

FACT: I was craving pizza the whole time. 


After eating, drinking and a little shopping (mostly Disney Store #disneyfreak), we headed back to the hotel, rested for a bit and headed out to the meat packing district to meet with my long time friend from High School who is killing it as a personal trainer, we hung out at this place and then headed out to dinner, not too late because day two was upon us. 

Second Day

Wake up, get ready, grab coffee, a cookie and start walking from the Redbury Hotel all the way to The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

We took a little detour at Grand Central Station and since I am a Gossip Girl fan, I could only possibly think of the time Serena came back from boarding school and everyone freaked out.

After my GG moment, we went back to the cold and started walking towards the objective; it truly is a long walk (50-minute walk) but walking NYC is a whole journey, you can look at all the high rise building, shops on 5th, the lovely buildings and if you feel like it, play the game of guessing how much money do they cost, trust me it does keep you entertain. When we finally arrive, I went nuts internally because last time I was in NY, I only made it to the steps of the MET (like a true Waldorf), so we spent there like 4 hours and it was all worth it, there were some things I missed but it was all me, my research was poor and didn’t go to where I wanted to but I tried to look cool and a know it all, so I didn’t say anything to the person with me #ssshhhh.

MET TIP: I highly recommend to get the audio guides, it just an additional 7 USD and trust me, if you are not an art expert, this will make a huge difference.

After all the walking and walking and walking well yeah!, you guessed!; I was starving so we yelped a vegan restaurant (see?? Researching is important, don’t follow my example), the place was called Candle 79 and it was AMAZING, I enjoyed every bite and since I am usually a vegetarian from Monday to Friday at least, I was really happy and knowing I was about to go to my favorite part of the trip was helping a lot.

So the night came and we headed back to Times Square again to watch…(pause for reaction)…KINKY BOOTS!!! I was super excited; my face was like in that Simpsons episode where Nelson Muntz is watching Andy Williams.

Literally me during the show

The whole show is full of talent, performances are amazing, songs are so well thought and the cast is out of this world, the seats we had were pretty amazing and the whole show, other than being an amazing production, it puts an incredible message out there for people to accept others, be inclusive and above all break the rules for the right reasons which in this case means following your dreams.

KINKY BOOTS TIP: If you don’t know what this means but you love Rupaul’s Drag Race please do watch this show and do not ask any questions!!! SHANTAY, YOU STAY! 

By the end of the night, we went to a Jazz Club to chill after a long day and my final move was to hit Le Bain down at the Standard Hotel for some drinks with my friends from high school and then headed back to the hotel as a 7 am flight awaited for me and that is how my 48 hours went down.

FUN FACT: You can randomly run into drag queens at almost any bar in NYC.

Sorry I am a huge fan of drag

This post turned out to be much longer than expected, so I will do part two with Plan B especially on the summer and outfit ideas. 

Thank you solecitos for reading, if you did actually make it this far!

Love, 

Anabel 

bottom of page